Patience

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Lao Tzu

My writing isn’t very good at the moment but I’m OK with that. The start of any journey is always the hardest part, but it does get easier. The key is not to get frustrated and give up. It takes time to get better- that is true of everything in life- relationships, hobbies, work. The real pleasure in life comes from knowing you are growing, really seeing and appreciating every breakthrough that you make and enjoying every step of the way. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself straight away to be the best you can be. Sometimes that internal pressure can be useful – it separates the good from the great but if life is a journey then it doesn’t always have to be a sprint.

I enjoy writing, and I will get better at it the more I practice. I don’t need to be the best writer in the world, and I won’t get annoyed that I struggle to put the right words on the page sometimes. But I will enjoy the journey.

One thought on “Patience

  1. Oh I have struggled a lot with patience in the past. I could never shake that feeling of desperately wanting to go from beginner to pro at everything in a short period of time, which just creates stress, disappointment and a tendency to give up. Now I am trying to manage the expectations I have of myself. Minimalism has helped me so much with that; it has helped me to slow down, take a step back and keep things in perspective, which has really made me think about all the pressure I used to put on myself. You speak wise words when it comes to actually enjoying the process rather than fixating on the end product, James. As for what you say about writing, I can definitely relate, too. Working through the self-consciousness is always difficult, but it certainly pays off in the end 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

