An introduction

I want to live a more meaningful life with less. These are the words I heard when I starting reading and listening to ‘The Minimalists’; a couple of guys who tired of the rat race and wanted to change the way they live their lives. I thought that sounded pretty good, but what do they mean?

The Journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

I have always been addicted to ‘stuff’, you know, the latest games, gadgets, clothes, accessories. All the things you are convinced from an early age will bring you joy and meaning. I would crave the latest phone, wowed by all the extra things it would be able to do. The excitement of opening the box and seeing this shiny pebble of happiness staring back at me. After a few days of getting it all set up, perusing the app store and downloading all of these essential little buttons of pure joy it just became the phone that I knew it was, not really all that much better than the last one.

Like a lot of people I don’t use technology to make my life simpler and more productive, but as a way of passing the time. I would sit on a train and play games, or trawl through various social media feeds, oblivious to the world around me. If you look up you would see everyone else doing the same thing. But why? What do we get out of it? The problem is that possessions have come to define me, and to define my happiness. I want to change this and I’m going to start now.

2 thoughts on “An introduction

  1. Too true, James. You really describe that endless cycle well…getting that tiny thrill of excitement when you first open the box but deep down knowing that it’s all much the same really. I always had the same feeling, but with clothes. Knowing it was mine gave me that little thrill, but then there’s that niggling feeling that no matter how new the clothes are that you wear, you still feel just as good or bad inside as you did before.

    It was also The Minimalists who got me into the movement and motivated me to do try simplifying things for myself. Have you seen their film yet? I haven’t but have heard great things and hope to watch it soon. I love that they have really made minimalism accessible to the mainstream.

    Looking forward to following your blog, James, and reading your insights on living with less 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for connecting Lisa, I will also eagerly follow your blog.

      It has taken me a while to realise, but when you attach your happiness to things, or external forces then you will never truly be happy. Like you say with the clothes, if you don’t like the way you look then no amount of new clothes will change that feeling for you. On the flip side, when you are content and happy on the inside, then the rest really doesn’t matter as much.

      I have seen their film and I think it’s great, I’m sure you’ll get a lot of value out of it. I also subscribe to their podcast which I would definitely recommend

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

